Meet Our International Engineering Ambassador – Ekieoniso Samuel Roman

Why did you choose your course?

I chose Mechatronics and Robotics course as it gives me the necessary skills needed to innovate or upgrade devices in the future. This is due to an innate passion and satisfaction gained from making a device which can be beneficial to a large population and make work easier. My first satisfaction was when I built a mini pencil sharpener using broken parts and materials. This was a very useful project, and I would love to continue making more advanced devices in the future.

What have you enjoyed most about your course so far?

I have thoroughly enjoyed the practical elements of the course. I believe the course is well structured and there is adequate time each week to practice our skills and apply the knowledge gained from lectures. I have found these to be truly beneficial. In addition, I enjoy the element of teamwork incorporated into the practical classes. Furthermore, I have enjoyed the friendliness of some teachers, in that, they are approachable to ask questions and they respond promptly and adequately to the questions asked.

What do you think about Sheffield as a city?

Sheffield is a student-friendly society in that there are many student buildings, accommodations and varieties of shops close-by. I have also enjoyed cheap mode of transportation through Sheffield transport discounts, another reason for Sheffield being student friendly. Furthermore, for the short while I have lived here, I have found Sheffield to be safe to live in. All these are beneficial to both home and international students.

Have you got any particular academic achievements or extra-curricular achievements you’d like to highlight?

Firstly, I have had an outstanding academic background. This is showcased by an A* in Mathematics at college level and being one of my school representatives for an American Mathematics Competition (AMC) which I partook in twice. Regarding extracurricular activities, a notable one was during my time as a player in a football team. I played the defense role in the game which was quite new to me as I have always been a forward player. Nonetheless, we all played well and with great teamwork, we won the tournament of eight (8) football teams.

What are your ambitions after completing your degree?

My future ambition is to improve the depth of mechatronics in the security field, at home and abroad, to assist in eliminating threats to people’s lives. This is necessitated by the incessant security challenges faced, home and abroad. With the above goal in mind, it is my aim to contribute towards a future with affordable security systems.

What would you say to a younger student if they are considering studying engineering/science/maths at university?

My best advice for any prospective student is to make sure he or she hone their Mathematics skills because most mechatronics relies on the principles of Mathematics. Also, ensure to start any assignment or coursework ahead of time rather than piling them up in order to avoid a rushed work. Ensure to revise each lecture on a weekly basis for better and easier understanding. Lastly, engage in extracurricular activities for a better work life balance.

Leave a comment