Meet Our International Engineering Ambassador – Simon Desir

Why did you choose your course?

With a keen interest in both Mechanical and Electrical Engineering, I searched for degrees which encompassed both. I believed that Mechatronics was the right fit as I was intrigued by not only robotics but also coding. Although I am uncertain of my exact desired profession, the interdisciplinary nature of a Mechatronics degree equips me with a strong foundation needed to understand and apply technologies in a myriad of fields, for example Renewables, Automated Systems, 3D manufacturing/printing, Medical Technology and Artificial Intelligence.

What have you enjoyed most about your course so far?

I always felt like I grasped the theoretical aspect of modules easily, however when it came to practical work within laboratory sessions, it was challenging to apply it. Here at the University of Sheffield, the practical work and hands-on-tasks integrated within all my modules connect the theoretical knowledge learnt in class to the real world seamlessly. I enjoy this very much. I am able to clearly see where contents I have learnt in lectures are applicable to the real world. A few interesting projects I’ve worked on since being at University consist of : programming a microcontroller for a robot, working with Arduinos, as well as developing ladder logic for a Programmable Logic Controller!

What do you think about Sheffield as a city?

I believe that living in Sheffield allows persons to have the best of both worlds. With countless green spaces, unwinding is always a walk away. Sheffield’s love for integrating nature deeply resonates with me because it makes me feel close to home. I was born and raised in Saint Lucia (in the Caribbean) and having so many attractive green spaces nearby reduces my daily worries. Moreover, attending University near the city centre comes with added advantages as well, especially if your city centre is as beautiful as Sheffield’s.

Coming from a very small island with a little over 180,000 persons, I am not used to very bustling and fast-paced environments nor am I used to such a wide variety of stores. Sheffield’s City Centre, from all the exploring I have done so far, has been able to strike the right balance. The City Centre and Moor which are easily accessible, integrates green spaces, and are not overwhelming, is ideal for me!

I feel truly blessed to be able to walk down to the city centre and get items that I need from a wide variety of stores, but I also love being a bus-ride away from the Peaks where I am to ground myself and meditate.

Have you got any particular academic achievements or extra-curricular achievements you’d like to highlight?

Throughout my first year thus far, I’ve taken an interest in many societies as a way of meeting new people and trying new things. My participation within these societies has also allowed me to adjust into the new city and academic culture here at Sheffield. I’d firstly like to highlight that I am a member of ACSE Assist, a departmental society aimed at preparing students within my department for examinations. I was involved in delivering a module overview for Digital and Embedded Systems last semester. Being a part of this society has allowed me to consolidate my knowledge of modules, improve my communication skills and increase my self-confidence.

Secondly, I’ve recently joined the Technical Service Committee of the University’s Student Union. This group is geared at developing student hands-on skills through the preparation and organisation of event nights at the University. We are responsible for lights, sound and visuals at the University Club Nights.

Additionally, I am a Volunteering Ambassador, a member of Engineering without Borders Sheffield as well as work-part time at the University Student’s Union to name a few.

What are your ambitions after completing your degree?

I am still not entirely sure what desired profession I’d like to go into; however, I find myself drawn to Automated and Control Systems. Both Robotics and Automation are increasingly becoming the reality across a vast range of sectors, and I’m currently interested in contributing to its integration.

What would you say to a younger student if they are considering studying engineering/science/maths at university?

  1. Use your early academic years to try as many new things as possible and identify your passions.
  2. Be patient and continue working diligently. You are not even close to tapping into your true potential!

Leave a comment