Meet Our International Engineering Ambassador – Yuen Cheuk Ying

Why did you choose your course?

I think my subconscious played a huge part in what I’ve wanted to study since I was young. From watching Back to the Future, to fixing my mom’s broken phone and hacking Tiny Tower Vegas, I have believed that I am a “good engineer” and that science and engineering pervade every part of our lives. Besides, I think my course helps me in working in different related career fields, such as bioengineering, aerospace, computer system etc. 

What have you enjoyed most about your course so far?

The part I enjoyed the most about my course is that I can have practical opportunities such as programming robots with C and building circuits with electrical components.

Practical works allow me to train my hard skills required for my future careers. Not only it is useful for helping me understand theoretical knowledge but I can also apply the skills on competitions and the project I am working on.

What do you think about Sheffield as a city?

I love to describe Sheffield as my second home.

Whenever I feel tired of studying in the library, I will have a walk in the parks. Some parks or gardens may have lakes, parkour and animals like squirrels and even rabbits and foxes! If the weather’s nice, I will bring my books and guitar and sit on the grass.

On the other hand, I love that restaurants are just next to the campus, and there are bars and clubs that I will go with my friends at nights. If we travel further, we can find gyms, cat cafes, laser tag etc.

Sheffield is a magical city and everyone is very friendly. If you are willing to explore, I am sure that there are even more amazing things to do here!

Have you got any particular academic achievements or extra-curricular achievements you’d like to highlight?

I was the Computer Scientist of Sheffield 2019 iGEM team, OPENLUX. The International Genetically Engineered Machine competition is a worldwide synthetic biology competition take place in Boston, USA.

We competed over 353 teams from all over the world and our team have achieved the “Best Open Project” and the Gold medal. 

What are your ambitions after completing your degree?

I see myself becoming an inventor or creator in the future because I believe they are the ones who lead society to the new generation. Therefore, after completing my degree, I want to research in Hologram Technology and am also pursuing an engineering career in Robotics and

 Machine Intelligence. 

What would you say to a younger student if they are considering studying engineering/science/maths at university?

Limits don’t exist!! Don’t let age, gender, knowledge, grades, A-Level subjects limit you! If you think you lack knowledge, do not worry, every student going to university has the same situation. The world definitely needs you to become a better place!

Leave a comment