Meet Our International Engineering Ambassador – Garima Malhotra

Why did you choose your course?

Hello everyone! I’m Garima, and I’m currently pursuing an MEng in Electronics and Computer Engineering. Having an interest in physics, mathematics and computer science, I wanted to pursue a degree course that was an application of the three. Studying Electronics and Computer Engineering wasn’t the most immediately obvious choice for me in the beginning, but over time, has proven itself to be the most suitable for me. My course allows me to gain in-depth knowledge of semiconductor physics and electronics, whilst also equipping me with key software engineering concepts. It is a unique course, as it lets me learn about both electronics and software engineering as two distinct disciplines, and also allows me to see their intersection, serving as a perfect union of two very in-demand and intellectually rewarding fields.

What have you enjoyed most about your course so far?

Definitely the labs! Labs are challenging in their own way, but are a great opportunity to develop a wide range of hands-on skills. The university has a well-equipped electronics and control lab and a cleanroom facility. The labs have allowed me to learn how to solder, use a variety of equipment such as oscilloscopes, waveform generators, DMMs, build circuits on breadboard, perform circuit simulations on LtSpice and even fabricate a Schottky diode in the cleanroom! Apart from being fun, labs are a great way to gain a more intuitive understanding of the course material.

What do you think about Sheffield as a city?

Sheffield has a relaxed and green environment with an inclusive and international atmosphere. Living costs are very reasonable at Sheffield, as compared to some of the other bigger cities in the UK. Sheffield has the pros of a city, without much of the hustle and bustle, with the Peak District right around the corner. Sheffield also has quite an active light life.

Have you got any particular academic achievements or extra-curricular achievements you’d like to highlight?

I am a recipient of the International Undergraduate Merit Scholarship and the Engineering Excellence Scholarship at the University of Sheffield.

What are your ambitions after completing your degree?

I am still not sure about what specific industry I want to get into after graduation, but I intend that it will most probably be something related to my course. Hence, my current plan is to gain some industry exposure upon completion of my degree course, to further explore my interests. I hope to work at the forefront of cutting-edge technology, or at state of the art laboratories to apply the skills and knowledge that I will gain at university. Through my experiences in industry, if I happen to encounter a topic that really grips me, I would go ahead and pursue a PhD in that field.

What would you say to a younger student if they are considering studying engineering/science/maths at university?

1. Firstly, you should start with picking the right subjects at high school/college. Generally, mathematics is a must-have. Check out the university’s requirements/prerequisites for the desired course, for further information.

2. Do some research. Check out the different courses that different universities offer. You can learn more about each university and their courses via their websites, social media and even open days! This will also help resolve any doubts relating to what course you want to pick at university. 

3. Be ready for some commitment. STEM degrees are notorious for being difficult and require a great deal of hard work and commitment if you want to succeed.

4. With all that being said, don’t be intimidated. It can all be done if you put your mind to it. Moreover, STEM degrees are known to be very rewarding. 

Leave a comment