Meet Our International Engineering Ambassador – Chimere Ogochukwu Achinanya

Why did you choose your course?

In bioengineering, I see a purposeful and versatile vocation, yet what I love most is its fusion of life sciences and engineering principles as its scientific core.

What have you enjoyed most about your course so far?

I enjoy the practical and fast-paced nature of the course. It really challenges you to think of more effective ways to improve global healthcare and inclusivity in that.

What do you think about Sheffield as a city?

The city of Sheffield is a perfect student city. It has a balance between liveliness and serenity, which is very difficult to find in other cities in the UK. Also, as an international student, I find Sheffield more economically friendly in relation to other large cities in the UK. The cost of living compared to other cities is low, allowing students to get the most out of their university experience. Lastly, I find Sheffield to be a safe city.

Have you got any particular academic achievements or extra-curricular achievements you’d like to highlight?

I graduated as valedictorian from high school, and prior to my undergraduate degree, I was awarded four scholarships from different universities worldwide, including the University of Sheffield.

What are your ambitions after completing your degree?

I have always placed a high value on academia, so I plan to further my education after completing my undergraduate degree by enrolling in a master’s program in rehabilitation engineering.

What would you say to a younger student if they are considering studying engineering/science/maths at university?

I would encourage them to go for it, but remind them that it could be quite challenging, demanding sacrifice and commitment. Nonetheless, they should be motivated to make a social change, and the reward of making a difference in this rewarding and intellectually stimulating vocation should stir them on.

Leave a comment