Meet Our International Engineering Ambassador – Alejandro Burg Lopez

Why did you choose your course?

I chose mechanical engineering as I am passionate about the automotive and motorsport industries and I always wanted to learn about the design and manufacture of engineering components.

What have you enjoyed most about your course so far?

I have really enjoyed the modules where there is a competition between students to achieve a desired design as I particularly enjoy problem solving and solution optimisation. These modules include a water bottle rocket launching competition in first year or a mass minimisation challenge for a structure in second year.

What do you think about Sheffield as a city?

It’s a lovely place to live, I particularly enjoy the vast amounts of parks and green space. I also like that everything is concentrated in the centre of town so commutes will never be more than a 30 min walk.

Have you got any particular academic achievements or extra-curricular achievements you’d like to highlight?

As part of Sheffield’s Formula Student team (Sheffield Formula Racing), I have been part of the design, manufacturing and running of a single seater Formula style racing car, even achieving winning the 2021 Formula Student UK competition against other universities in the UK and internationally.

What are your ambitions after completing your degree?

My intentions are to work for a Formula 1 team. I have had a wonderful time in Sheffield Formula Racing so far and wish to take it a step further into the most competitive motorsport category in existence.

What would you say to a younger student if they are considering studying engineering/science/maths at university?

Think about what you want to do in life and then pick a degree to suit that, not the other way around.

Leave a comment