Meet Our International Engineering Ambassador – George Boufidis

Why did you choose your course?

My passion for engineering started while playing with LEGO and was later reinforced with the FIRST® robotics competitions during high school. At the time, I felt that I was just playing a game doing something that I loved; using my hands and mind to solve problems and challenges quicker and better than others. In fact, I was learning engineering principles using trial and error. I knew then that I had to follow a mechanical Engineering career.

What have you enjoyed most about your course so far?

I have really enjoyed all the design modules that we had. Building on the knowledge from the more technical courses, we were given challenges and often had a competition between our year. Through that gamification we were pushed to learn more and try hard to find innovation.

What do you think about Sheffield as a city?

Sheffield is great! It feels like a small city in terms of the short walking distances and the friendly vibe, while having everything that you need. It is a very green city with Peak District just on its outskirts. Be prepared for a few hills though 🙂

Have you got any particular academic achievements or extra-curricular achievements you’d like to highlight?

One of my favourite experiences throughout the degree was the participation in many extracurricular activities. I have enhanced so much my learning outcome gaining practical knowledge that can’t be taught in any module. As a highlight, I was part of Sheffield Formula Racing team since my first year, and now I am leading the entire team. I have gained knowledge from practical design to softer skills such as communication and leadership.

What are your ambitions after completing your degree?

My ambition is to use my knowledge and skill set and at some point, be able to apply them through an innovative company in my home country, Greece.

What would you say to a younger student if they are considering studying engineering/science/maths at university?

I could never tell you what it would be like studying something else. What I can tell you is that through a STEM education you will be able to tackle the world’s most difficult problems. As engineers we have the power and responsibility to change the world for the better.

Why did you decide to do a Year in Industry?

I decided to do a Year in Industry to gain professional experience before my graduation.

How did you secure your Year in Industry placement?

At the start of my third year, I started applying to internship programs. At the same time, I had all the guidance that I needed from the university’s Year in Industry team that gave me comments on my CV and provide preparation for interviews and assessment centres.

Where did you do your Year in Industry placement? Please provide the company name and location.

Williams Racing, Grove, UK

Can you give a brief overview about what your placement involved e.g. job title, overview of main responsibilities/ projects you were working on?

As a mechanical design engineer, I was making parts and systems to enhance performance, solve problems, be easy to manufacture, cost-effective, safe to use, and last but not least be aesthetically pleasant (particularly for pit equipment).

What did you enjoy most about your Year in Industry?

I really enjoyed the fast-paced environment and the very steep learning curve that I was on. It was very rewarding being thrusted as a permeated and given jobs that could have an impact.

How did your placement influence your plans for your future career?

My placement solidified my love for mechanical design and informed my focus when applying for graduate roles.

One thought on “Meet Our International Engineering Ambassador – George Boufidis

Leave a comment