Meet Our International Engineering Ambassador – Deepan Sam Leo Xavier

Why did you choose your course?

During the past century, the steel from Sheffield had great demand and was supplied all over the world. Sheffield has the soul of metallurgy in it and many great innovations including the creation of a ‘stainless steel’ was made in Sheffield. Today even though Sheffield’s steel production has limited, the Department of Materials Science and Engineering in the University of Sheffield are making fantastic progress in the area of Metallurgy, in collaboration with leading industrial partners like Rolls Royce, Boeing, Airbus etc. I have a massive passion for metallurgy therefore studying the Master’s degree in Advanced Metallurgy was the perfect choice for me to improve knowledge in this area and have a successful career ahead. The Department is also making excellent progress in other areas of materials like Batteries, Fuel Cells, cement technology, nanotechnology etc. If you are looking do a degree in Materials then do not hesitate, the University of Sheffield is the perfect choice for you.

What have you enjoyed most about your course so far?

The courses in the UK are designed in a different manner which provides not only in-depth theoretical knowledge but also helps us to apply that knowledge in relevant engineering problems. I believe this is the most important skills an engineer should possess. In your coursework, real time engineering problems are given to you, and you must come up for innovative solutions for each problem. I am also learning many programming and modelling software’s which would make me a holistic engineer. The all-round experience I’m getting from this course is fascinating.

What do you think about Sheffield as a city?

Sheffield is situated amid seven hills. The land is extremely beautiful, filled with sceneries everywhere. There is a wow factor everywhere you go because you are living in one of the most gorgeous places that you will ever see in planet earth. I feel privileged that we live very close to the peak district national park. Just 10 to 15 miles from Sheffield, I felt as if I was entering into a completely different land. I go for trekking in the peak district in the weekends and absolutely it was one of the best experiences in my life.

Have you got any particular academic achievements or extra-curricular achievements you’d like to highlight?

I am currently working in a project which focuses on novel methodologies to design high entropy alloys. Other than academics, I am also a member of the walking club in the university of Sheffield where I go for frequent walks as mentioned previously.

What are your ambitions after completing your degree?

My ambition is to become a Professor in the field of Metallurgical Engineering. I want to be someone who plants the seed of knowledge in young minds and motivate them to do great things in their future. After my course I am planning to do a PhD to further enhance my research skills.

Leave a comment