Meet Our International Engineering Ambassador -Ameerul Aiman Shahizam

Ameerul Bin Shahizam

Background

Greetings to all of you who may read this from any part of the world. My name is Ameerul Aiman Shahizam and I was born and have lived most of my life in Malaysia, which is  located in South East Asia just in between Singapore and Thailand. I am currently studying Electrical and Electronic Engineering (MEng) at the University of Sheffield. My friends would consider me to be a very eccentric person that would seek new experiences on a whim. Some hobbies I like to mention are photography, cooking and travelling.

Why Electrical and Electronic Engineering (EEE) and why Sheffield?

I chose my course in Sheffield because I fell in love with the city and its culture, also I have a deep seated fascination for electrical hardware. I was fortunate enough to experience living in Sheffield prior to attending Higher Education, I successfully completed both my GCSEs and A-Levels in Sheffield. Sheffield is a wonderful city to live in for many reasons, for one thing the city of Sheffield is said to be among the greenest cities in the UK. It is close to the Peak District, which is a national park and is the perfect place for a day out. The Peak District offers stunning views and is a great place to relax away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life.

The University of Sheffield is a truly excellent place to learn, not just for EEE but for other courses as well. The University of Sheffield is a Russell Group university and is mainly research lead. For those who are interested in attending the EEE course, Sheffield has it’s very own teaching Clean Room which students use during lab sessions. This is a unique aspect of University of Sheffield,  as not many universities have their own Clean Room. Usually Clean Rooms are reserved for academics and researchers. A number of courses at The University of Sheffield offer year in industry placements which is an exciting opportunity to experience to apply what you learn to an actual real world problem and I encourage people to apply for this as the skills obtained from this is highly sought after.

The University of Sheffield is a global university which is attended by many international students from around the world, it is a great opportunity to meet so many new people. The university has a lot of events that cater for this, such as the culture week where students are able to share their  unique way of life back from their own country. If you are feeling anxious about living by yourself in a different country for the first time –  don’t. The University of Sheffield has an abundant amount of societies for a wide variety of interests that range from cultural to academic groups and anything in between.

After university I intend to pursue a career in research, namely in system architecture. I believe attending this university has given me the best opportunity to succeed in my ambitions. I would encourage anyone wanting to go into higher education to consider the University of Sheffield as one of your options.

Leave a comment