Meet Our International Engineering Ambassador – Adreena

Greetings to whoever is reading this. My name is Adreena, but if that’s too long, you can call me Add.  I am a 2nd year Civil and Structural Engineering student, born and raised in Malaysia. I especially enjoy eating, actually any kind of dish, just eating in general! Besides enjoying consuming calories, I also enjoy meeting people. Studying in Sheffield has given me the platform to engage with people from all around the world. I feel very blessed.

WHY DID I CHOOSE CIVIL AND STRUCTURAL ENGINEERING?

To me, civil engineering is something that makes me feel that I am in a world which will never end, it only expands and exceeds with new discoveries. Personally, I didn’t know much about the field and it is amazing just how much I have learnt on this course. From tension and compressions, to pipes and wastewater, transportation networks, roadways, railway design, bridges to skyscrapers. I feel that civil engineering is such a huge subject area to cover and it can help you make huge improvements to society and the environment. The modules I have taken have taught me so many things I was eager to learn about.

MORE ABOUT SHEFFIELD

I have been to most of the cities in Yorkshire region and honestly, I would choose Sheffield in the blink of an eye. Sheffield is safe, clean, friendly, convenient, and cheap.  The list goes on and it’s now my home. I love the fact that everything is a stone’s throw away! The city, the park, the market, and even the gym are all within walking distance. If you’re still not convinced that Sheffield is the place for you, continue reading.  If you’re looking for a quiet but not THAT quiet kind of home environment, Sheffield is definitely the place. Have I mentioned Sheffield is cheap? The living expenses here are very affordable! Moreover, our Students’ Union is Number 1 in the UK. This is something I am very proud of as we have the best facilities and it is a very conducive place to study. To all my Muslim brothers and sisters, let me tell you, Sheffield is a very Muslim-friendly city. Halal restaurants are everywhere and certified Halal butchers can also be found at the local market. I hope Sheffield will be an option for you, because honestly choosing this city has been the best decision that I have ever made. See you guys soon!!

Leave a comment